Map Drawn Up: At least for now

KING OF MACABRE I have realised is at present a blog that is documenting my courtship to marriage of Stephen King. The fact that I’m only on my fourth book means that I cannot be considered an authority – at least not yet – on Stephen King. I am happy to say that I have to some extent mapped my way forward with his work.

Since posting ‘Novel Navigation’ I was sent a link to the ‘Stephen King Universe’ and here it is:
http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-cmmJvItL6XE/UFjb6kdOlRI/AAAAAAAACac/uPpEHx2bG1Q/s1600/Stephenh-King-Universe-FLowchart-900px.jpg
Looking at this flowchart for the first time just filled me with childish excitement!

It’s brilliant because there are references in his books that the reader will only pick up on if they have read one of his other books. I experienced this for the first time when I read Misery and found a reference to The Shining’s Overlook Hotel.

I am pleased therefore that I read The Shining before I read Misery because it enabled me to pick up on the reference. The flowchart connects the references in his books so it can be used as a navigating tool to decide what order a new Stephen King reader could take. I am not suggesting however that a new reader must be read in a strict chorological order because that’s certainly not the route I’m taking.

I have found out that there is no general consensus among Stephen King readers about what order to read his work in and to be honest, I’m quite glad that this is the case. It really depends on what the individual reader finds appealing. His work is quite diverse so not all of his books therefore will appeal to the same reader.

The books that I have read so far, I have already had an awareness of, either because I have seen the film or by references in popular culture. After I have finished It, I am going to read The Stand which is a completely new story to me so I’m quite excited to start as I have no expectations.

I did read good advice on a forum today and that this, “the key is persistence.” Sometimes there are passages in any book where it feels a chore to get through it and if you are unfamiliar with the overall plot of the book, it might be tempting to give up. The Stand is a meaty book and I don’t know much about it so I will need to bare this advice in mind.

I have previously mentioned that there are significant Stephen King events happening this year and one which I did not mention is the TV adaptation of Under the Dome airing in June. Again, Under the Dome is a meaty book which I don’t know much about but I do plan to read it so I can then start to watch the TV series when it begins to air.

Luckily, I’m getting good practice with tackling a huge book at the moment reading It.

Leave a comment